LUCKY7 MEME!

Nothing like following the lead of the wonderful Jennifer Lewis Oliver.

Image

Networkedblogs.com

 

Here are the rules:

1. Go to page 77 of your current MS/WIP
2. Go to line 7
3. Copy down the next 7 lines, sentences, or paragraphs, and post them as they’re written.
4. Tag 7 authors, and let them know.

This is a really interesting exercise because you have no idea what you’re going to find.

 

Mine is an excerpt from A Stormy Spanish Spring – a contemporary romance:

 

Her body was supple, toned and flexible. It was also relentlessly trained, obedient and resilient with an endurance that would put a Special Forces commando to shame.

And it had never let her down, except once. But she’d bounced back, stronger, harder and tougher.

Over the years of learning her craft she’d dealt with the misery of rejection by only working harder to improve.

She wasn’t afraid of long hours or paying her dues.

If some said she got to where she was because of her mother, she’d only pushed herself even harder to prove them wrong. Fame was a burden for the children of the famous; constantly being judged, analysed and compared, made true success that bit harder to attain.

Life was not fair. God knew Becca understood that particular rule. She had the battle scars, emotional and physical to prove it.

Dance was her life and reason for existing – it fed her body, her mind and her soul. And if her heart was dead what did it matter? What use was an organ that caused nothing but destruction, pain and grief?

Instead of professional ballet she’d veered down a different path with Justin, rejecting performing, embracing the craft that fed her soul – choreography. No one compared her to her mother in this niche. Here she’d found her wings, flying fast and high.

🙂

I tag the following: Deborah Johnson Krager, Lisa Hall-Wilson, Alica & Roy Street, Lena Curzon, Emma Burcart, Pat O’Dea Rosen and Jansen Schmidt.

I must admit to being a teeny bit worried I landed slap bang in the middle of a lurvve scene. No idea if you lot are happy or sad about that!

 

You know I love hearing from you guys and I’ll sit here with a petted lip if no one comments. I’ll only take it out on my DH!

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “LUCKY7 MEME!

    • Why hello, Coleen.

      Can I say that in your photograph you look very naughty? You have a wee glint in the eye and I’m sorry you didn’t actually land in the middle of a lurvve scene I’ll do what I can in the next couple of weeks. I’m thinking about doing a post on love scenes.

      Thank you for dropping by, I appreciate it.

    • Hi, Jennifer,

      Thank you for doing this, it’s a great idea.

      This is what blogging should be all about. Fun and easy. It was a strange feeling counting down to page 77 etc because I had no idea where it would land, the worry was it might land right in the middle of a ‘good bit’ if you know what I mean?

      It’ll be published at the end of August. Just worked everything out today and I’m waiting for the cover which I’ll post as soon as I receive it. My first book is out at the end of April, so we shall see. 😮 If you want to check out the blurb and storyboard for this story you can find it
      here: http://pinterest.com/christineauthor/a-stormy-spanish-spring-storyboard/

  1. Hello Rachel,

    I didn’t know you could dance? LOL!

    And I know your not afraid of hard work or paying your dues. I don’t think any of us are who want to write for a living!

    • Hello Kourtney,

      Thank you for commenting. I know you’re a busy woman!

      Becca is intriguing. It’s taken me three years to work through her story – it hasn’t been as easy journey – some characters are like that. She triumphs in the end! Bless her. I seriously torture my heroines can’t seem to help myself.

  2. Great excerpt! Now I can’t wait to read it. Especially since it has a dancer in it. I used to be a pro dancer, and have a contemporary romance series that features dancers. Thanks for tagging Roy and me. Otherwise I might have chickened out of Jennifer’s meme. 🙂

    • Hello Alicia & Roy,

      Guys, Alicia and Roy run the RG2E group for readers – the link is on the side bar. It’s a great place to connect with readers of your genres.

      Alicia, I taught for over fifteen years and trained over thirty girls, so I know a little about choreography. The key was not to say too much in the story and bore the reader because It’s easy to get carried away. Working on final revisions, but this story doesn’t come out until the end of August.

      Thank you for dropping by!

  3. Pingback: Tagged by Lucky 7 | Marcy Kennedy & Lisa Hall-Wilson

    • Hi Gregorious!

      She’d need to be tough after the things I’ve put her through,hehehe! Yep, a good Lurve scene always hits the spot.

      Thank you so much for dropping by, I appreciate it.

  4. Great job Christine! Bravo! I am standing up and clapping! 🙂

    Sorry to be late to the party. I have had meetings with doctors and lawyers. My dear husband. It’s been too much. But I am so impressed. I love your writing style. Can’t wait for your book to come out! 🙂

    • Hello, Karen.

      Worry not, I’m happy you enjoyed it. Thank heaven it didn’t land in the middle of a lurrrrve scene.
      Hope everything is okay with your DH. Will email you!!

  5. Pingback: Hit by the Lucky 7! BAM! | Debra Kristi's Blog

  6. Pingback: Breaking the Lucky 7 Meme Rule | Debra Kristi's Blog

Leave a comment